The 5 Love Languages: Understanding Yourself & Your Partner

Apr, 03, 2023

Sharing is caring!

DisclosureSome of the links below are affiliate links, meaning that at no additional cost to you, I will receive a commission if you click through and make a purchase. For more information, read our full affiliate disclosure here.

If you’ve been anywhere near the internet, you have definitely come across the term “love languages.” If you are like me, the idea of being able to categorize how I love and receive love is fascinating. Or maybe you are like my sister; then it must sound like absolute nonsense to you. But today, we will open our minds and explore the world of love languages.

In this blog post, we will explore what love languages are, who invented them, how they can improve your relationship with your partner and yourself, and how to incorporate them into your relationships.

Who knows? Maybe you’ll learn a little something something about yourself.

Key-Take Aways

As you read this blog post, here are a few things you need to know.

  1. The concept of “love languages” was introduced by Gary Chapman in his 1992 book, The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate.
  2. Sometimes people have more than one love language. Unfortunately, we are more complex than we thought.
  3. By understanding your own love language and that of your partner, friends, or family members, you can better communicate and meet each other’s needs.

Okay, now we are ready to get started!

Who Invented the Love Languages?

Dr. Gary Chapman, a marriage counselor, first introduced the five love languages in his book, “The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate.” Dr. Chapman was inspired to write the book after observing the common issues couples experience in his practice. He realized that people express love in different ways, and unless couples understood each other’s love languages, they would not be able to communicate effectively and meet each other’s needs.

Here are the five love languages in no particular order:

Words of Affirmation

This love language focuses on verbal affirmations, compliments, and appreciation. People who prefer this love language feel loved and valued when their partners express their love and appreciation through words.

Put It Into Practice:

Express your appreciation for your partner by telling them how much you love and admire them. Leave love notes for them to find throughout the day, or send them a thoughtful text message to brighten their day.

quality time-ctm
Give 100% of your focus.

Quality Time

This love language is about spending quality time with your partner. People who prefer this love language feel loved and valued when their partners give them their undivided attention.

Put It Into Practice:

Spend time with your partner doing activities you both enjoy. Put away your devices and focus on each other – this quality time can help deepen your connection and strengthen your relationship.

Acts of Service:

This love language revolves around actions, such as doing the laundry, running errands, and cooking meals. People who prefer this love language feel loved and valued when their partners do things for them.

Put It Into Practice:

Show your partner you care by taking on some of their responsibilities, such as doing the dishes or running errands. Small gestures can make a significant impact when it comes to acts of service.

Receiving Gifts:

This love language is about thoughtful and meaningful gifts. People who prefer this love language feel loved and valued when their partners give them presents, demonstrating that they have been thinking about them.

receiving gifts-ctm
Always add a personal touch!

Put It Into Practice:

Give thoughtful gifts to show your partner you care. These don’t have to be expensive or extravagant – even a small token of your affection, such as a handwritten note or a favorite candy, can make a significant impact.

Speaking of gifts that everyone can enjoy:

Related Article: Build A Sex Box On A Budget: Everything You Need For Late-Night Sessions

Physical Touch:

For some people, physical touch is how they feel loved and appreciated. Holding hands, hugging, kissing, and other forms of physical touch is essential to them. Without it, they may feel distant and disconnected from their partner.

Put It Into Practice:

Show your partner you care through physical touch, such as hugs or holding hands. Even small gestures like a gentle touch on the arm or a reassuring pat on the back can help you feel more connected and loved.

five love languages-ctm
Save For Later!

Incorporate Them!

Incorporating the five love languages into your life can also be a powerful way to deepen your self-awareness and increase your emotional fulfillment. By understanding your own primary love language, you can make sure that your own needs and desires are being met and take steps to communicate them more effectively to others.

To incorporate them effectively, follow these steps!

  1. Identify your love language and your partner’s: Take the free quiz on Dr. Chapman’s website.
  2. Speak your partner’s love language: Once you know your partner’s love language, make an effort to express your love in that way. For example, if your partner’s love language is acts of service, you can help them with household chores or run errands.
  3. Recognize your partner’s efforts: When your partner expresses their love in your love language, acknowledge their efforts and show appreciation. For example, if your partner gives you a thoughtful gift, thank them and show them how much it means to you.
  4. Be open to change: Your love languages may change as you and your partner grow and evolve. Be open to learning and adapting to each other’s changing needs.
  5. Practice self-love: Understanding and using the five love languages can also improve your relationship with yourself. Identify your love language and make an effort to express love to yourself in that way.

Related Article: A Lesson on Body Confidence from Someone Who Has None

Deepen Your Relationships

The five love languages are powerful tools for understanding yourself and others. Whether you want to deepen your romantic relationships, connect more effectively with your children, or simply increase your own sense of self-awareness, the five love languages can help.

By taking the time to learn about each love language and incorporating them into your daily life, you can improve communication, deepen connections, and lead a happier, more fulfilling life.

You Want More?

Do you like this kind of content?

Let me know, and sign up for my newsletter to get notified when I post!

xoxo, Mia


  1. Insider| How to show your partner love in their love language — and why love languages are so important
  2. HuffPost| How To Show Your Partner They’re Loved, Based On Their Love Language
  3. MindBodyGreen| What Are The 5 Love Languages? Everything You Need To Know
  4. VeryWellMind| What Are the Five Love Languages?


Hi, I am Mia! I am Sex Education Enthusiast and I love bringing people the knowledge they need to make their sex lives better! I always preach that having a healthy sex life is a part of a healthy life overall.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Posts

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x